A Previvor’s Story

Previvor’s – Individuals who are survivors of a predisposition to cancer but who haven’t had the disease.

I was born on 11th September 1981 and named Stephanie Tuppence Rolfe by my parents (yes they named me Tuppence).

I am one of 5, 3 brothers and 1 sister and grew up in a relatively normal household with my parents (my mum had her moments).

image

In 2010 I found out that I had the BRCA1 Gene Mutation, increasing my risk of developing breast cancer in my lifetime by around 80%, about 7 times greater than that of a woman who does not have the mutation.  It also means that my risk of ovarian cancer is significantly elevated, around 44%  (although mine has been put at around 60% due to my family history), versus just under 2% for the general population.

My sister also tested positive although being 7 years younger she has a bit more time on her side.

My sister is the reason I started this blog. She has watched and listened to me go through all the tests, appointments and more recently surgery. My sister, like me and many others search the internet looking for information and pictures of people who have been through the same and/or similar procedures and some of it is pretty daunting and scary.

So far I’ve been lucky and cannot thank my amazing Surgeons, nurses and the Breast Care Team at both Good Hope Hospital, Birmingham and Solihull Hospital enough. They have not only done a fantastic job but have given me incredible support and reassurance throughout.  Having read many stories on the internet I know now this isn’t the same for everyone.  By sharing my story I wanted to give some reassurance and comfort to my sister and others.

This blog isn’t just about my journey and the decisions I made and continue to make but also that of my mum, the most incredible woman I ever met and the person that saved my life.

image

Leave a Reply

